Saturday, May 15, 2021
Home State Maharashtra :The Maha Vikas Aghadi government in Maharashtra, won Aurangabad and Pune...

Maharashtra :The Maha Vikas Aghadi government in Maharashtra, won Aurangabad and Pune graduates’

NCP’s Satish Chavan won the Aurangabad division graduates’ constituency, defeating BJP nominee Shirish Boralkar.

Chavan polled 1,16,638 votes, while Boralkar bagged 58,743 votes, the state electoral office said.
In Pune division graduates’ constituency, NCP’s Arun Lad defeated BJP candidate Sangram Deshmukh by a margin of 48,824 votes.

Lad polled 1,22,145 votes, while Deshmukh bagged 73,321 votes.
BJP’s defeat in Pune graduates’ constituency is considered to be a big blow to party’s state unit chief Chandrakant Patil, who along with former chief minister
Devendra Fadnavis had campaigned extensively to retain the seat.

Patil represented the Pune graduates’ constituency before he became a member of the Legislative Assembly from Kothrud constituency in the 2019 state elections.

The biennial elections to six legislative council seats — three graduates’ and two teachers’ as well as one local bodies seat were held on December 1.

The MVA allies were leading in two other constituencies, out of the total five seats.

In Nagpur division graduates’ seat, Congress’s Abhijit Vanjari was leading over his nearest rival Sandeep Joshi (BJP).

In Pune division teachers’ constituency, Jayant Asgaonkar of the Congress was leading over Independent Dattatraya Sawant.

In Amravati division teachers’ constituency, Kiran Sarnaik (Independent) was leading over Shiv Sena’s Shrikant Deshpande.

Talking to reporters in Mumbai, NCP chief Sharad Pawar said the result was a reflection of the MVA government’s performance in the last one year.

The Dhule Nandurbar local bodies seat was won by BJP’s Amrish Patel. The by-election was held as Patel, who was earlier with the Congress, quit the party to join the BJP.

Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar on Friday said the victory of Maha Vikas Aghadi candidates in the biennial state Legislative Council polls was a symbol of the unity among the alliance constituents.

He said it showed that the people of the state have reposed their faith in the government.

His statement comes after the Nationalist Congress Party, which is part of the Maha Vikas Aghadi government, won the Aurangabad and Pune graduates’ constituencies of the legislative council on Friday. Results of three other seats are yet to be declared, but the MVA candidates are leading in two seats.

In a statement, Pawar thanked voters for their mandate favouring the MVA candidates.

“The victory of the MVA candidates is a symbol of the unity among all the alliance constituents and the faith reposed in the state government by the people,” he said.

Maharashtra minister and state NCP chief Jayant Patil said the poll outcome showed that apart from farmers, workers and middle class people, highly-educated voters also support the MVA government.

Home Minister Anil Deshmukh also thanked the voters and added that they “bent lofty necks” of rival parties by backing the MVA candidates.

“We were humble before the people yesterday, are so today and will always be so. Congratulations to the #MahaVikasAghadi candidates,” he tweeted in Marathi.

Deshmukh also said that the opposition parties should now support the government in the state’s development.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

The corona warrior is given a cowboy safety kit

Koraput: Kovid fighters working on the Chhattisgarh and Andhra Pradesh border have been provided with various kovid security items by the district emergency office,...

At Kovid Hospital, the young journalist opened up about the food crisis.

A few days back in Malkangiri, the district's Kovid Hospital was accused of negligence and death in treatment, which was denied by the health...

Gajapati District R. Udayagiri Rural Development Department Junior Engineer Corona dies at Berhampur Bada Medical

Paralakhemundi: Prashant Nayak, a junior engineer in the Udayagiri Rural Development Department's office in Gajapati district's Ra Udayagiri, died on Sunday at around 7...

Six people were killed and three others were injured in the lightning strike.

Damanyodi: Two cows and two cows of Lada Chalan and Jhannaguda of Jhanaguda village under Koraput block Dumuripadar panchayat were killed in a lightning...

Recent Comments